Do you know anything about Joan Baldwin living in a miner’s cottage in Garndiffaith 1920s – 30s

I have just received the following email from Stephen Burnham.
If you can help please leave a comment as time is now short.

I have just been browsing your excellent site Reminiscences. …and I was wondering if you could help me with my enquiry.
My wife and I are travelling from Norwich to Garndiffaith on the 23rd March and will be staying in Usk for two nights.
We are looking for the place where her late mother Joan Baldwin b.1926 grew up.
We know she lived in a miner’s cottage in Garndiffaith.
We have since been informed by a surviving relative that the cottages have been demolished.Apparently there is now a new Co-op and housing estate where the cottages once stood.
Her cousin has mentioned a name that sounds like Aberystruth.
We don’t want to waste petrol travelling round half of Monmouthshire.
Thank you for taking the time to read my lengthy email.
I would appreciate any help you may have.
Good luck with your site.
Many thanks
Stephen Burnham

2 Responses to “Do you know anything about Joan Baldwin living in a miner’s cottage in Garndiffaith 1920s – 30s”

  1. Kath King Says:

    I would think the cousin means Abersychan.

  2. brian walker Says:

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/665506176823590/ Contact the above site

Leave a Reply

