Then and Now – Memory work in school

At a social gathering at my church this week we were given a quiz. One question was about the introduction of decimal currency and it suddenly occurred to me that no one under the age of 50 would know much about it; that must mean over half the population.

Bearing in mind that many elderly folk don’t have a computer and access to the internet I think it would be a fair assumption to say that approximately two-thirds of the visitors to this blog would have no personal experience of conditions during the 1930s and 1940s.

I’ve therefore decided to publish a series of posts on the “Then and Now” theme, comparing Pontypool life in the 1930s and 1940s with life today. If any visitors have any queries about this or if anyone has anything to add from their own memories, please feel free to make a comment or email me. I know that World War II is in the syllabus of many schools today so this information might be of use to any visitors who are teachers.

MEMORY WORK IN SCHOOL

From conversations I’ve had with my grand-children, I gather that, in schools today, children are not required to learn much poetry by heart. When I was at Town School we had to learn a good many poems by writers like Wordsworth and Masefield and from time to time we had to chant them in class. As it was a Church school we also had to learn the Church of England Catechism and the Ten Commandments. This gave us an interest in poetry generally and I often liked reading poems which I found in books, especially if there was a comic element in them.

I have written in previous posts about the boys’ literature we loved to read in magazines like the Wizard, Hotspur and Adventure. I suppose I was fortunate in having at home a large book-case full of all sorts of books which my father had collected. I well remember one set of large red encyclopaedias – 12 volumes in all. There were many items in them to interest children including some poems and I spent many hours browsing through them.

I used to like reading the limericks by Edward Lear which were illustrated. Another poem which I often read was “The Story of Augustus” by Heinrich Hoffmann. He was a German psychiatrist who was also an author. He published a book called “Struwwelpeter” full of illustrated cautionary tales informing children what might happen to them if they misbehaved, told lies or in this case, didn’t eat their soup. The English translation below was publlshed in 1848.

 

The Story of Augustus,
Who Would Not Have Any Soup

By Heinrich Hoffmann

Augustus was a chubby lad; 

Fat, ruddy cheeks Augustus had; 

And everybody saw with joy 

The plump and hearty, healthy boy. 

He ate and drank as he was told, 

And never let his soup get cold.

But one day, one cold winter’s day,

He screamed out–“Take the soup away! 

O take the nasty soup away!

I won’t have any soup today!”

Next day begins his tale of woes;

Quite lank and lean Augustus grows.

Yet, though he feels so weak and ill,

The naughty fellow cries out still–

“Not any soup for me, I say:

O take the nasty soup away! 

I won’t have any soup today.”


The third day comes; O what a sin!

To make himself so pale and thin.

Yet, when the soup is put on table,

He screams as loud as he is able–

“Not any soup for me, I say:

O take the nasty soup away!

I won’t have any soup today.”

 

Look at him, now the fourth day’s come!

He scarcely weighs a sugar-plum;

He’s like a little bit of thread,

And on the fifth day, he was—dead!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Then and Now – Memory work in school”

  1. Sharon Jones Says:

    Hi We have recently moved to Pentwyn in Pontypool, and the estate that we live on is where Pentwyn Brickworks used to be. Despite various visits to the museum and the local records office, we have found its location on the OS maps, but no information or photos of it. Can you help? Thanks

    Sharon Jones

    On Sunday, 4 November 2012, Reminiscences of Old Pontypool wrote: > amos2008 posted: “At a social gathering at my church this week we were given a quiz. One question was about the introduction of decimal currency and it suddenly occurred to me that no one under the age of 50 would know much about it; that must mean over half the population” >

Leave a Reply

