FREE new e-book for visitors to this blog

FREE new e-book for visitors to this blog

A couple of years ago I wrote a children’s novel for my grandchildren. They knew nothing about it, but when I’d finished it I designed a cover and used a pseudonym instead of my own name so that they wouldn’t know I was the author. I printed several copies and bound them into paperbacks so that they looked like any normal book you’d buy from a shop.

My grandchildren are keen on reading and are used to being given books so I casually gave a copy to each of them and asked them to let me know what they thought about it. I was pleased that they all gave it a good report, but one of my grandsons said he would have liked some illustrations in the book as he prefers books with illustrations. It was only after this that I confessed to being the author of the book.

So, for some while recently I’ve been busy making illustrations for the book, two of which appear on the newly-designed cover. I intended the book for children who are about 8 to 11 years of age and have decided now to offer it as a free e-book to any visitors’ children or grandchildren – or anyone else for that matter – who might like to read it.

The title of the book is “Titch’s Secret Society”. Visitors who have read all the posts on this blog will realise that it’s partly autobiographical – except the exciting bits !

There is a saying that writers should write about things they know, so the setting for the book is Pontypool, but a vastly different Pontypool. For one thing I’ve moved Pontypool to the Welsh coast, a Pontypool-on-sea !!!  I’ve also given it an abbey. I stole this from Tintern, but don’t tell the people of Tintern; they haven’t missed it yet.

There is a stone bridge (which was made of wood many years ago when it was first built) which leads from the abbey towards the town. It is because of this bridge that the town is known as “Pontyrabad” (Abbot’s Bridge in English). The full historical account of the murder of the abbot is included in the story.

This is the cover of the book:

 

The top illustration shows Titch and his four friends playing cricket on the green common with the abbey in the background, and, if you look carefully, to the right of the abbey set high on the hill is the old tower (The Folly). The bottom illustration shows the abbey set close to the sea and to the left the new stone abbot’s bridge. The town of “Pontypool” (Pontyrabad) rests resplendent along the coast with a beautifullly curved beach. Did I hear someone say “I wish!”? The Grotto is off to the left of the bottom picture. Known as “the old shell house” it also features in the book.

So, in the hope that some Pontypool children (or any others) might be encouraged to do more reading, I shall be publishing an episode from the book every Saturday morning so that children can read it when they are home from school. Incidentally, please feel free to make any comments.

Although the book is coyright and cannot be published by anyone else, please feel free to download it and print a personal copy if you want someone to have it in printed format.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “FREE new e-book for visitors to this blog”

  1. levant29 Says:

    nice one David, bet your Grand-children are very happy with this,

  2. website visitors Says:

    website visitors…

    […]FREE new e-book for visitors to this blog « Reminiscences of Old Pontypool[…]…

Leave a Reply

