Town School Centenary Booklet 1938

The headmaster, Mr J.P. Lewis, frequently told us that the official name of the school was Pontypool Town School N.P. He further explained that the N.P. stood for “Non Provided”. I’m not certain what that meant but, possibly, it might have been some indication that it was a church school. If anyone has further information on this I’d be glad to hear it.

As I mentioned in one of my much earlier posts on Town School, a small booklet was published to celebrate the event and every pupil in the school was given a copy. I knew I still had that copy somewhere but, having so many books, looking for a small 16 page booklet was not easy. However, I recently found it wedged between two much larger books so I’m taking this opportunity to publish some of the pages of the booklet in this blog.

I should think there were probably about 200 of the booklets printed so that by now, over 60 years later, they must be a rare item. Here is the cover of the booklet:

The photograph below shows on the left part of an arched window in the corridor. The small porch area to the right of the window has two narrow doors leading into the playground and to the right of the doors is Miss Brooks’ classroom.

 


The next photograph is one of the entire infants and junior staff of the school. I cannot remember Mr W.D.Howell. There would have been no classroom available for him so I can only suppose that he might have been doing some student teaching at the time this photograph was taken. If anyone can remember him I’d be glad to hear from them.

 

On page 8 of the booklet are two portraits of Mr J.P. Lewis and Miss M.E. Williams which I include below.


There are 15 pages of interesting text in the booklet which gives the names of the school managers, a foreword by The Venerable Vaughan W.T. Rees, B.A., Vicar of Trevethin who also writes the foreword, and a photograph of Trevethin Church together with a brief history. A photograph of the founder of the school, Rev. Thomas Davies, M.A. and a short history of the school follows. The next section contains some photographs, as above, together with a list of all the past headmasters and mistresses. Then follows three pages of quotations from the school logbook. Academic and sports successes are included next and the book ends with a programme of the centenary celebrations.

I have scanned the entire booklet and made it into two Word documents, one being too large to send by email. If you would like to receive copies of these documents, which will enable you to print your own booklet, please email me and I will send them to you.

My email address is:   david.hughes43@ntlworld.com


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Town School Centenary Booklet 1938”

  1. Clive Barnby Says:

    “Non provided” meant there was no provision for the school in the local authority rates. The school would have probably been funded by the local Church, and contributions from the families of the children. The Church of England (which when Town School was founded hadnt, of course, been disestablished in Wales) had the “National Society” and the “British and Foreign Society” which funded schools – the origin of the so-called “National Schools” (Pontymoel, for example) and “British Schools” of which there were a couple in the Pontypool area. These schools provided basic learning as well as teaching the Anglican faith.

    I dont know if Town School got funding from either Society. It didnt have the designation of “National School” or “British School” but possibly because the school was established before the Societies became really active. Funding may have been received by way of grants from, for example, the Board of Education which the 1944 Education Act replaced with the Minisitry of Education.

    R. A. Butler’s 1944 Act involved the raising of school leaving age (“Rosla” as it was sometimes called) to 15 and the provision of universal secondary education. Town School would have been brought within the ambit of the local authority but there would have probably been arrangements for the Church in Wales or the local Church to be involved in its government.

    Town School must have been one of the last *unreorganised schools” as it continued until about 1956/57 to provide education for pupils up to the age of 15.

  2. Jeff Price Says:

    I was at Park Terrace School between 1958 and 1964 and when I took a school lunch it was down at Town School. I remember it costing a shilling per day for the lunch. Town School boys and Park Terrace boys did not get on well. I remember taking part in a school football match against them in early 1964. It took place down in Pontypool park. We used coats as goalposts. Quite a few bruised bodies after that game. I think it ended in a draw.

  3. Lydia Says:

    I was at park Terrace school would like to find more people who went there and see some school photos if you can help? My name is Lydia lee i am 58 years old . Thank you

  4. Robert Miles. Says:

    I attended Town School after the war, specific things never leave me. The Headmaster Mr Lewis was immaculate, his hair was spun silver. Miss Lewis was my first teacher, a wonderful woman, who was disabled, she wore big black boots. I think I am correct when I say that Mr Hughes was married to Miss Brook, they had a girl called Jane who was in my class. Mrs Hughes always wore open toed sandals and she carried a slipper!!! I append below a poem about Miss Lewis which I have taken from an anthology of my childhood. It was written with much affection for a teacher who was filled with kindness for all her pupils.

    MISS LEWIS

    Once two is two, two-twos are four.
    Concentrate Miss Lewis says
    when you say your times table.
    They will provide the tools
    in school for your arithmetic.
    Three-threes are nine, four threes are twelve.
    I screw my eyes tight, then I get a pain
    and flashes of light when I open them again.

    Four sixes are twenty four, five sixes
    are thirty. I’ve done all the sums except one,
    I think I’ve got them right, I’ll get a silver star,
    it might be gold, but I doubt it.
    Miss Lewis only gives gold stars
    to the older kids. When I am older
    I’ll go to the big school, I will take my stars with me.

    Seven sixes are forty-two, eight sevens
    are fifty-six. Miss Lewis has a wooden leg
    which squeaks when she walks.
    She will never be an Apache
    or a Commando.
    Sit upright! she says. Arms behind your head.
    Sit upright! arms folded this time.
    She calls it discipline.
    I like the silvery buns over her ears
    and her shiny heavy black boots.

    Ten nines are ninety, Twelve, twelves
    are one hundred and forty-four.
    She gives me a slap on the knuckles
    when I’m naughty, with two rulers together.
    It makes a loud noise, it doesn’t hurt.
    She only hits the boys with this slapstick.
    It’ll make me tough for knuckles in the yard
    at playtime. Oh! when is it playtime?

    Robert Miles

    .

Leave a Reply

